You are here

Negahneewin Council Members

The vision to create Aboriginal educational and training programming at Confederation College must be directly attributed to the leadership and foresight of local Aboriginal community members. 

Today, this community connection remains intact with the current members of the formalized Negahneewin Council.  The community representatives are as follows:

  • Metis Nation of Ontario
  • Ontario Native Women’s Association
  • Ontario Federation of Indian Friendship Centres
  • Oshki Pimache O Win Education and Training Institute
  • Seven Generations Education Institute
  • Northern Nishnawbe Education Council
  • Matawa First Nations
  • Oshki Anishnawbeg Student Association
  • Negahneewin Alumni Association
  • Members-at-large
  • Nishnawbe Aski Nation
  • Grand Council Treaty #3
  • Negahneewin Faculty and Support Staff
  • Regional Campus:Lake of the Woods

This initiative spans over approximately three decades.  The tenacity that accompanied this original vision is evident by the persistence of the ideas that remain focused on creating an Indigenous Studies learning environment.

Recognition and Acknowledgement of Our Leaders:

Early to mid-1980’s:
Bill Sault, Thunder Bay
Jerry Perrault - Niccicousaminacaning First Nation
James Cutfeet - Thunder Bay
Rebekah Maki - Thunder Bay
Ruth Baxter - Nishnawbe Aski Nation
Marcel Donio - Thunder Bay

Early to Late 1990’s:
Anne Lesage - Thunder Bay
Jerry Perrault - Thunder Bay
Mike Murchison - Thunder Bay
Tom Logan - Thunder Bay

Early 2000’s:
Anne Lesage - Thunder Bay
Jerry Perrault - Thunder Bay
Mark Sault - Thunder Bay
Leona Scanlon - Thunder Bay

Our Student Leaders:

1992-93 Charlton Thompson
1993-94 Julie Ferguson, John Bannatyne
1994-95 Bill Cheechoo
1995-96 Brian Nahwegezhic
1996-97 Gerry Trudeau
1997-98 Gerry Trudeau
1998-99 Brook Mainville
1999-2000 Romona McKenzie
2000 – 01 Serenity Stevens
2001-02 Brent Wesley
2002-03 Corey Wesley
2003-04 Nicole Perreault
2004-05 Karen Kejick
2005-06 Mark Meekis/ Ian Crow
2006-07 Ian Crow
2007-08 Andrew Joseph
2008-09 Daniella Seguin, Daniel Yerxa
2009-10 Dustin Musgrave
2010-11 Dustin Musgrave

We are grateful to these Anishnabe and Metis people who expressed a sincere desire to work with this College.  Their planning to support Aboriginal education and training  remains the foundation of our work.